Corn starch, sometimes referred to as Corn flour, cornstarch, maize starch and maizena, is a carbohydrate extracted from the endosperm of corn. It is ground from the endosperm or white heart, of the corn kernel. Since corn starch is made from corn and only contains carbohydrates (no protein), it is a gluten-free product.
It is not a rich source of vitamins and minerals, it may help boost calories for those who need it, act as a source of energy and prevent low blood sugar in people with nocturnal hypoglycemia.
This white powdery substance is used for many culinary, household, and industrial purposes. In the kitchen, corn starch is most often used as a thickening agent for sauces, gravies, glazes, soups, casseroles, pies, and other desserts.
It is also used to make corn sugar and corn syrup as well as to manufacture adhesives for paper and fabrics. Cornstarch is really close to corn flour but they are not exactly the same. Starch originates from the inside of corn seeds and is more thickening than the flour, which is made out of the entire seed.